The States for Passenger Rail Coalition, Inc. (SPRC) is an alliance of 23 State and Regional Transportation Officials and Passenger Rail Authorities from across the United States who work together to support the development and growth of passenger rail service for America. Established in 2000, the SPRC currently has members representing the states of California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin. Additional members include Capital Corridor Joint Powers Authority, LOSSAN Rail Corridor Agency, Northern New England Passenger Rail Authority, San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority, and the Southwest Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission. Membership is available to state departments or agencies that oversee the official transportation responsibilities for a state or territory.

The Coalition's mission is to promote the development, implementation and expansion of intercity passenger rail services with involvement and support from state governments.

  • Promoting current and long-range plans for intercity passenger rail service throughout the United States.
  • Facilitating coordination and cooperation among state officials, and between the public and private sector at all levels (federal, state and local) in the effort to promote and develop intercity passenger rail service.
  • Advocating and assisting in the pursuit of state and federal funding to support on-going development of America's passenger rail system.
  • Supporting current efforts and projects managed by state transportation departments.


SPRC By-Laws